The Walking Dead’s Andrew Lincoln as Alexander Thorpe?

Copyright 2014

By Lisa Maliga

I’ve seen this on other blogs, the author citing who inspired their main characters or else who they’d like to see play him or her if their book was ever turned into a feature film. During the final read through of my novel Out of the Blue…my overactive imagination kicked in. A lead actor for the movie version of my book appeared to me. Yeah, like my book would ever be turned into a movie. But, I was amused by the thought of the picture that popped into my mind – that of Andrew Lincoln, a fine British actor who’s probably best known in America for playing the character of the sheriff Rick Grimes in the AMC TV series, The Walking Dead.

That evening, I was rewatching season 3 on Netflix and my computer froze [hey, I was taking a break from redesigning my website and inputting my novel’s changes] right on Rick’s face. Like this:

sheriff rick grimes the walking dead played by andrew lincoln
Andrew Lincoln as Rick Grimes, The Walking Dead



Yeah, definitely. But then I got to thinking that my character and the actor share a few traits. The obvious one is that Alexander Thorpe is English and so is Andrew Lincoln.

They both went to the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art [RADA].

They have blue eyes and light brown hair. Are of similar age and build. Their first names begin with the letter A. My character’s a bit of a drinker, well, don’t know if Andrew’s one or not.

Still, I was amused as I read my manuscript one last time and saw him as Alexander and not my character. It was during the reading of this part that I envisioned Andrew as Alexander…


Alexander finished his drink and left the pub. As he went up the walkway to his house, he glanced over at the hotel. A light in one of the upstairs rooms had just switched on. He saw a figure approach the window and open it. Alexander wondered if that was the young visitor. A glance at the car park revealed no strange cars. Probably too young and insipid, he reasoned. Perhaps she had no idea who he was. Maybe she was escaping from a jealous boyfriend or husband. Her family. Or the law. He opened his door, rarely locked when he went to the pub or hotel. Alexander entered his dark and empty house.


Had she known Alexander knew she even existed, Sylvia would’ve been elated. But she was far from that elusive feeling. She sat on the bed and turned on the telly, watching one of the three available channels, paying little attention to an inane show entitled Game for a Laugh.

Sylvia got up and turned away from the TV, once more questioning her reasons for leaving her comfortable life back in Richport, Illinois. She had a car, a job, and lived in a nice little suburban townhouse. Abandoning them, she had done, for her day and night dreams were no longer enough. Most people dwindled away their existence by imagining ‘what if…?’ but not acting upon that notion. How many had come close to realizing their imagination but found a reason not to enact it? She had boarded her first international flight and located the village where the man she was infatuated with lived. Until she actually met him, she was a failure. What if she didn’t meet him before her two weeks expired?

out of the blue a novel by lisa maliga

Amazon Kindle version: Out of the Blue 

Amazon Kindle UK version: Out of the Blue 

PAPERBACK version: Out of the Blue

Barnes & Noble version: Out of the Blue

iTunes version: Out of the Blue

Smashwords version: Out of the Blue

Leave a Reply

